Login | Register


All times are UTC + 1 hour


It is currently Fri May 26, 2017 23:38 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Misread IP
PostPosted: Sat May 03, 2014 22:33 pm 

Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 22:03 pm
Posts: 3
Okay, I hate to only post when there's an issue, but my group and I are at wits' end. I can't host a multiplayer game. No one can connect to me. The game says my ip address is something that it's not (it won't even show me the ip address assigned to me by my router, it gives an address that is out of range of my router.) Gameranger doesn't show my real address. Giving my friends my ip address (that the internet sees, not my router assigned address), does nothing.

OS: Win 8
I have all the ports open and pointing to my router assigned ip address, I have a static address on my router).
I have the same version, boosterpack and maps as my friends.

Everything works just fine except my ability to host.

Any suggestions?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Misread IP
PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2014 1:29 am 
- Admin -
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 14:17 pm
Posts: 1964
Do you START the same version as your friends do? you can check that in the options menu (it will show the text at the bottom).

If you have Boosterpack2.0 (which we recommend) you have a ParaWorld Boosterpack shortcut. Other versions probably don't have this. Starting via autorun always launches "vanilla".

Enabled cheats also restrict your ability to join MP games. (you can only play with other people having cheats enabled)

_________________
I've never seen code like this.

CEP Moddb | CEP download
ParaWelt TicTacToe | Multiplayer TicTacToe/4 gewinnt/etc v1.2


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Misread IP
PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2014 7:36 am 

Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 22:03 pm
Posts: 3
I can join just fine, but I'll check with others to make sure we're all on teh same page.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Misread IP
PostPosted: Sun May 04, 2014 17:54 pm 
- Admin -
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 14:17 pm
Posts: 1964
Paraworld shows the LAN IP ingame (at least for me). As you probably know, you need to give out your router's IP, which you can check on sites like http://www.whatismyip.com/ . I had the problem that I wasn't able to play MP at all because of Hamachi - uninstalling it solved the problem.
Are you sure that you forwarded the port correctly in your router to your LAN IP? You actually only need 1 TCP-port (Default is 1905). The "Internet Multiplayer" option is broken btw and won't work (it will in fact let your game crash), so you need to use play by TCP/IP.
Judging by your description, none of these points should be new for you. But I have no idea atm what else could cause your problem. :(

_________________
I've never seen code like this.

CEP Moddb | CEP download
ParaWelt TicTacToe | Multiplayer TicTacToe/4 gewinnt/etc v1.2


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Misread IP
PostPosted: Mon May 05, 2014 10:05 am 

Joined: Sat May 03, 2014 22:03 pm
Posts: 3
Ah, okay, it was apparently a typo. Going to try now, but I had 1904 forwarded and not 1905


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Misread IP
PostPosted: Tue May 06, 2014 5:26 am 
- Admin -
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 14:17 pm
Posts: 1964
Feel free to tell us if that solved it ;)

_________________
I've never seen code like this.

CEP Moddb | CEP download
ParaWelt TicTacToe | Multiplayer TicTacToe/4 gewinnt/etc v1.2


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron