Login | Register


All times are UTC + 1 hour


It is currently Tue Oct 24, 2017 12:09 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2014 14:24 pm 

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 17:55 pm
Posts: 3
I don't know how alive the forums are nowadays, but I hope someone is out there to help me with a problem I have.

Now I've been looking around the forums a while and noticed some people have had similar problems, but I haven't got an answer yet that solved the situation for me, so I guess I'll create my own thread to see if I can get my problem fixed.

Basically, I have two computers (one stationary and one laptop, both use Windows 7) both with Paraworld installed. They are two separate DVD copies and use different CD keys. I want to be able to play online/LAN between the two computers with my friends or my sister, but I haven't gotten it to work yet.

Now I've tried alot of things to make this work, I have tried opening a LAN match normally, using direct IP, using Hamachi, and I've also made sure that both copies have the exact same mods and addons installed (BoosterPack, Win7 fix and the big mappack). I would be really grateful if anyone could reply to this and help me through my problem!


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2014 14:27 pm 

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 17:55 pm
Posts: 3
I just noticed something by the way. Very recently I uninstalled one of the copies and installed it again to make sure that they had the same mods/addons installed, but the game never asked me for a CD key. Could this be a cause to the problem?


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Mar 15, 2014 14:59 pm 
- Admin -
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 13:42 pm
Posts: 770
Location: Koprulu Sector
SheegothHunter wrote:
I just noticed something by the way. Very recently I uninstalled one of the copies and installed it again to make sure that they had the same mods/addons installed, but the game never asked me for a CD key. Could this be a cause to the problem?

probably not, because the Settings.cfg in your appdata/roaming folder hasn't been deleted at uninstall, and this file stores your CD key, so that when you reinstalled it, the game already had a valid key
anyways, it would be also good, if you could come to tavern (http://www.para-welt.com/tavern/) so that we can talk in realtime


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2014 15:57 pm 
- Admin -
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 14:17 pm
Posts: 1979
You need a second CD Key. Send me the one you already have as a PN and I can give you another one.

_________________
I've never seen code like this.

CEP Moddb | CEP download
ParaWelt TicTacToe | Multiplayer TicTacToe/4 gewinnt/etc v1.2


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Mar 16, 2014 19:34 pm 
- Admin -
User avatar

Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2009 13:42 pm
Posts: 770
Location: Koprulu Sector
SheegothHunter wrote:
They are two separate DVD copies and use different CD keys.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2014 7:05 am 
- Admin -
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 14:17 pm
Posts: 1979
:O ok this usually fixes is.

Hamachi is evil. It took me half a year to figure out that it was causing my PW-multiplayer to be broken. Better uninstall it from the computers.

If you are using normal LAN after that, it should work.

You can also forward any TCP port in your router to a host and host the game on that machine on the specified port.

It's also important not only to install, but also LAUNCH the same versions of the game. You can check the exact version in the options menu at the bottom. (Something hopefully containing BoosterPack1)

_________________
I've never seen code like this.

CEP Moddb | CEP download
ParaWelt TicTacToe | Multiplayer TicTacToe/4 gewinnt/etc v1.2


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Mar 17, 2014 21:15 pm 

Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2012 17:55 pm
Posts: 3
AnthonyCole wrote:
:O ok this usually fixes is.

Hamachi is evil. It took me half a year to figure out that it was causing my PW-multiplayer to be broken. Better uninstall it from the computers.

If you are using normal LAN after that, it should work.

You can also forward any TCP port in your router to a host and host the game on that machine on the specified port.

It's also important not only to install, but also LAUNCH the same versions of the game. You can check the exact version in the options menu at the bottom. (Something hopefully containing BoosterPack1)

I'll uninstall Hamachi from both computers, and if it still doesn't work I'll try changing the CDs keys, since I'm suspecting I've might have accidentally written down the same CD key for both games :P . Not sure about this though, which is why I'll try uninstalling Hamachi first.

And yes, every time I have made sure to launch the same version of both games, so that shouldn't be an issue here. Thanks for the help anyways though :D. We'll see what happens when I try this out.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Mar 18, 2014 23:00 pm 
- Admin -
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 14:17 pm
Posts: 1979
"I haven't gotten it to work yet" is not a really accurate description ^^ what does not work? You don't see the game? You can't start it?

_________________
I've never seen code like this.

CEP Moddb | CEP download
ParaWelt TicTacToe | Multiplayer TicTacToe/4 gewinnt/etc v1.2


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron