Login | Register


All times are UTC + 1 hour


It is currently Wed Mar 29, 2017 8:18 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Map editor help
PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2008 13:05 pm 

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 9:45 am
Posts: 43
Location: England, Hampshire
At the moment I'm okay with mapping a map, at the moment though what I need help with is making a slope/ramp in the editor :? , as I find that I can only raises my land to a predetermined height with the "Plateau tool" :| . What I want to do is raise the height slowly or lower slowly over a stretch of land to make slopes/ramps. I think that although the current Level Editor Manual document is quite helpful it could do with some more addition to help more with mapping.

_________________
Image

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Description Maker for SEAS Mod
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map editor help
PostPosted: Fri Dec 12, 2008 13:39 pm 
- Mod -
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 15:44 pm
Posts: 13970
Location: Seldwyla
use the ALT-function or smooth your (plateau-)hills with Smooth. ;)

_________________
Image
Image
2nd Place Johnnyzocker's Tournament 2008.
2nd Place Saturday Battle Tournament 2010.
3rd Place X-Mas Tournament 2010.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map editor help
PostPosted: Sun Dec 14, 2008 22:46 pm 

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 9:45 am
Posts: 43
Location: England, Hampshire
k, will try thanks :D .

_________________
Image

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Description Maker for SEAS Mod
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map editor help
PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 0:56 am 
- Dragon Clan -
- Dragon Clan -
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 2:48 am
Posts: 203
Location: Puerto Rico
I can't find the document. Can someone atleast tell me the basics, like inserting objects, dinos, and I forgot which one but the one that makes a huge hole for water. :?:

Please Reply.
:?

_________________
Image
Beware, the Dragon Clan has machines! But not this one. :(


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map editor help
PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 2:33 am 

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 9:45 am
Posts: 43
Location: England, Hampshire
Here is the Level Editor Manual Document, again for some reason having trouble uploading through here, anyway:

http://www.sendspace.com/file/q73awb

Although when you install the mapeditor, it should input these docs, into your "Docs" folder, in your parworld folder.

If you still need help on any of the basics, just ask, I'll help you best I can.

_________________
Image

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Description Maker for SEAS Mod
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map editor help
PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 4:12 am 
- Dragon Clan -
- Dragon Clan -
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 2:48 am
Posts: 203
Location: Puerto Rico
Oh, nevermind I found it, sorry. Now the only problem is making moutains and passages on it( or just mountains). Plus, I didn't get the Boosterpack dinos for the MapEditor! :x

I'll show you the progress I've done. :wink:

Image
List of Animals:
Saltasaurus
Oviraptor
Ptreranodon
Baryonyx
Sordes
Macrochlemys
Spinosaurus
Dunkleustus
Muraenosaurus
Lambeosaurus
Henodus and Fish (Food)
Gallimimus
Triceratops
Parasauralophus
Apatosaurus
Ornithocheirus
Psittacosaurus

And the last one is this one ape from the Northland.... Looks like Sasquatch.
So I put the Epochs, only for Dragon Clan so far, I'm not sure, how do I set the Bases and the amount for the Materials? I also put the Pirate Dungeon and
Pirate Trademarkets, (but the Trade is close to the Spinos).

_________________
Image
Beware, the Dragon Clan has machines! But not this one. :(


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map editor help
PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 15:50 pm 

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 9:45 am
Posts: 43
Location: England, Hampshire
With maps you also have to make sure you leave four square block from each side of the map, as this will be cut off ingame.

Talk's of ways to correct after doing the map are here:

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=23

Zumokuta Clan wrote:
I didn't get the Boosterpack dinos for the MapEditor


Did you install it in this order,

1. Paraworld

2. Paraworld Patch 1.01 (not necessary once boosterpack installed)

3. Map Editor (paraworld_sdk_1a)

4. Booster Pack "core files"

5. Booster Pack, language pack (e.g. Boosterpack_UK_Language_PackV1.3)

If not then recopy the core files in then the language pack, you should have the booster pack dino now.

If you did install it in this order then check that the shortcut to the mapeditor has the following in its target:

e.g. C:\PW\Sunflowers\ParaWorld\bin\PWClient.exe -leveled -enable boosterpack1

Must end with PWClient.exe -leveled -enable boosterpack1

with the spaces.

If all the above is correct then I'm not sure, it should be in the mapeditor under "BoosterPack1" in the insert object menu at the bottom (scroll down to).

Zumokuta Clan wrote:
Now the only problem is making moutains and passages on it


With the mountain at the moment I know how to raise/lower ground to a certain height, use the "Plateau tool" to do that

then as Scrat said

Scrat wrote:
use the ALT-function or smooth your (plateau-)hills with Smooth.


Although have not tried this should work. I will try this out myself to see if it works when I get time.

_________________
Image

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Description Maker for SEAS Mod
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map editor help
PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 20:01 pm 
- Dragon Clan -
- Dragon Clan -
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 2:48 am
Posts: 203
Location: Puerto Rico
Well, I made some improvements. Added some trees, grass, stones, rocks, and the fruit bushes.

All I need to know is how to set the "1" and "2" Bases for the map and adding the resource amount for food and stones.

How should I take out the boosterpack? (I dont' follow)

The Mountains and Templates, for me, can be answered at another time. :?

_________________
Image
Beware, the Dragon Clan has machines! But not this one. :(


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map editor help
PostPosted: Tue Dec 16, 2008 21:40 pm 
- Mod -
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 15:44 pm
Posts: 13970
Location: Seldwyla
1.
- Go to Objects/Insert Objects
- Go to All/Misc
- At the top of this list there is a thing looking like a yellow bar square, a bit smaller than a cottage. Place this thing where you want to have the Town Centers placed.
- Klick on the box and press p, then you see a little window. At the right side there is a list of Players numbered from 0 to 7. To give the base to a player, select the player in there (Player 0 usually is yourself)

2. Adding additional resources is olny possible by triggering

How far are you with installing the bp?

_________________
Image
Image
2nd Place Johnnyzocker's Tournament 2008.
2nd Place Saturday Battle Tournament 2010.
3rd Place X-Mas Tournament 2010.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map editor help
PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 0:12 am 
- Dragon Clan -
- Dragon Clan -
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 2:48 am
Posts: 203
Location: Puerto Rico
Everytime I edit the dino's health, the Error report comes, WHY!!!!!!!!!! :x


Hate windows. :evil:

_________________
Image
Beware, the Dragon Clan has machines! But not this one. :(


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map editor help
PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 19:40 pm 
- Mod -
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 15:44 pm
Posts: 13970
Location: Seldwyla
See my signature ^^

What do you want to change? You want lets say every brachiosaurus to be build with 4000 HP instead of 3000? That is not working with the Properties window. You need triggers for that.

_________________
Image
Image
2nd Place Johnnyzocker's Tournament 2008.
2nd Place Saturday Battle Tournament 2010.
3rd Place X-Mas Tournament 2010.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map editor help
PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 21:40 pm 
- Dragon Clan -
- Dragon Clan -
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 2:48 am
Posts: 203
Location: Puerto Rico
How do I use the triggers on dinos?

_________________
Image
Beware, the Dragon Clan has machines! But not this one. :(


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map editor help
PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 21:44 pm 
- Mod -
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 15:44 pm
Posts: 13970
Location: Seldwyla
No idea. :(

_________________
Image
Image
2nd Place Johnnyzocker's Tournament 2008.
2nd Place Saturday Battle Tournament 2010.
3rd Place X-Mas Tournament 2010.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map editor help
PostPosted: Wed Dec 17, 2008 22:34 pm 
- Dragon Clan -
- Dragon Clan -
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 2:48 am
Posts: 203
Location: Puerto Rico
:?

Then I'm stuck till an expert comes by......

EDIT: Nevermind, I solved my problem! All I had to do is change the dino's level. I put the Map ingame, and it was cropped! Actually I knew that would happen, but how do I raise the water level and how come the Pterosaurs won't fly? :(

Also, when I went to pick a Tribe, they didn't show up! :x

_________________
Image
Beware, the Dragon Clan has machines! But not this one. :(


Last edited by Zumokuta Clan on Thu Dec 18, 2008 18:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map editor help
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 18:12 pm 
- Mod -
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 15:44 pm
Posts: 13970
Location: Seldwyla
;) Good. I never tried if this is working.

Go to Options/Info and enter the story and name for your map. The other fields can stay empty, no need to fill them. Then go to the second tab of the window and enter the number of players. By Harbour, Watermap and all these options you can determine what the computer enemy should do. The other two tabs don't need to be filled.

_________________
Image
Image
2nd Place Johnnyzocker's Tournament 2008.
2nd Place Saturday Battle Tournament 2010.
3rd Place X-Mas Tournament 2010.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map editor help
PostPosted: Thu Dec 18, 2008 21:17 pm 
- Dragon Clan -
- Dragon Clan -
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 2:48 am
Posts: 203
Location: Puerto Rico
Yeah I found that stuff already, but what about the water and my Map? :|

EDIT: About the Template, I don't get it, do I go to "Scape Template" then search for my Map, make the Template. Then make a new map but with a bigger extension, (do you mean the size?) and finally, insert the Template?

Please Reply, ASAP.

_________________
Image
Beware, the Dragon Clan has machines! But not this one. :(


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map editor help
PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 14:35 pm 
- Mod -
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 15:44 pm
Posts: 13970
Location: Seldwyla
Exactly.

_________________
Image
Image
2nd Place Johnnyzocker's Tournament 2008.
2nd Place Saturday Battle Tournament 2010.
3rd Place X-Mas Tournament 2010.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map editor help
PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 17:08 pm 
- Dragon Clan -
- Dragon Clan -
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 2:48 am
Posts: 203
Location: Puerto Rico
Scrat wrote:
Exactly.


Then how do I insert it, by opening the Template on the new map?

_________________
Image
Beware, the Dragon Clan has machines! But not this one. :(


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map editor help
PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 17:28 pm 
- Mod -
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 15:44 pm
Posts: 13970
Location: Seldwyla
After you have saved the template, create the new map, then go to the templates menu and double-click on your saved template. Drag it to the location you want it to be and left-klick once. Despues hay un template en tu mapa. ;)

_________________
Image
Image
2nd Place Johnnyzocker's Tournament 2008.
2nd Place Saturday Battle Tournament 2010.
3rd Place X-Mas Tournament 2010.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map editor help
PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 18:23 pm 
- Dragon Clan -
- Dragon Clan -
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 2:48 am
Posts: 203
Location: Puerto Rico
Scrat wrote:
After you have saved the template, create the new map, then go to the templates menu and double-click on your saved template. Drag it to the location you want it to be and left-klick once. Despues hay un template en tu mapa. ;)


Gracias! :mrgreen:

Wait, it only copies one area! :cry:
Man, why does the game has to crop the Map?

I don't know what to do
! :cry: :x

_________________
Image
Beware, the Dragon Clan has machines! But not this one. :(


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map editor help
PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 19:48 pm 
- Mod -
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 15:44 pm
Posts: 13970
Location: Seldwyla
Otherwise wild animals could fall off of the map. ^^

What do you mean with one area? Drag the yellow square until the size you want it to be.

_________________
Image
Image
2nd Place Johnnyzocker's Tournament 2008.
2nd Place Saturday Battle Tournament 2010.
3rd Place X-Mas Tournament 2010.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map editor help
PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 22:31 pm 
- Dragon Clan -
- Dragon Clan -
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 2:48 am
Posts: 203
Location: Puerto Rico
Okay, but the Template won't appear now. :evil:

_________________
Image
Beware, the Dragon Clan has machines! But not this one. :(


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map editor help
PostPosted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 22:44 pm 
- Mod -
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 15:44 pm
Posts: 13970
Location: Seldwyla
How do you mean? It doesn't work?

_________________
Image
Image
2nd Place Johnnyzocker's Tournament 2008.
2nd Place Saturday Battle Tournament 2010.
3rd Place X-Mas Tournament 2010.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map editor help
PostPosted: Sat Dec 20, 2008 4:08 am 
- Dragon Clan -
- Dragon Clan -
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 2:48 am
Posts: 203
Location: Puerto Rico
Oh, nevermind, I understand "everything" now. :mrgreen:

Except I still can't pick a Tribe and how do I take out the Boosterpack stuff? So that I can have Mosasaurus.

I can have Mosa by making a "Nest-Swimmer" on the map and make so that it can hatch Mosasaurus. But it ends up swimming on land! :shock:

_________________
Image
Beware, the Dragon Clan has machines! But not this one. :(


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Map editor help
PostPosted: Sat Dec 20, 2008 9:49 am 
- Mod -
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 15:44 pm
Posts: 13970
Location: Seldwyla
You cannot place Mosasaurus or Liopleurodon as theyare bugged. :|

If you want to pick a certain tribe, go to Options --> Player Info and then select "Limits". Then you will see a window where there are four names that are marked:

Hu
Aje
Ninigi
SEAS


Hold Ctrl and click on the SEAS. Then you will see:
Hu
Aje
Ninigi

SEAS

Do this with every player in order to be able to choose between the three tribes. Adequately to that, you can select SEAS if you like a certain player to play SEAS:
Hu
Aje
Ninigi
SEAS

_________________
Image
Image
2nd Place Johnnyzocker's Tournament 2008.
2nd Place Saturday Battle Tournament 2010.
3rd Place X-Mas Tournament 2010.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 28 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: