Login | Register


All times are UTC + 1 hour


It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 7:49 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 1:23 am 

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 9:45 am
Posts: 43
Location: England, Hampshire
I recently tried putting in some new maps I downloaded from here, although they are not there when I go into skirmish.

I input the .ula files into
Code:
paraworld/data/boosterpack1/maps/multiplayer

I then tried in
Code:
paraworld/data/base/maps/multiplayer
(leaving the one in the boosterpack1 map folder)

Still the map did not appear on the list ingame.

Do I need to do anything else or have I done something wrong?

_________________
Image

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Description Maker for SEAS Mod
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 2:51 am 
- Admin -
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 17:16 pm
Posts: 4898
Location: Germany
Oh...

This is a good question. Did you restart the game afterwards? I always use the first path you mentioned and it works. Which maps did you download? Maybe someone made a mistake with them.

_________________
ICQ http://www.icq.com/people/327554363/


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 12:22 pm 

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 9:45 am
Posts: 43
Location: England, Hampshire
I tried quiting the game and going back in, still nothing.

Maps I tried:

seas_map.ula
death_valley.ula

_________________
Image

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Description Maker for SEAS Mod
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 13:48 pm 
- Mod -
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 15:44 pm
Posts: 14025
Location: Seldwyla
I get these maps displayed. Really strange. :? Try to cleaer the cache, maybe it is blocking the new maps.

_________________
Image
Image
2nd Place Johnnyzocker's Tournament 2008.
2nd Place Saturday Battle Tournament 2010.
3rd Place X-Mas Tournament 2010.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 02, 2008 19:18 pm 

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 9:45 am
Posts: 43
Location: England, Hampshire
Tried clearing the cache still no luck.

I have also had problems getting the map editor to work, I've tried double clicking the icon and right clicking the icon and selecting "Run as Administrator" with no luck.

_________________
Image

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Description Maker for SEAS Mod
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 5:29 am 
- Admin -
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 17:16 pm
Posts: 4898
Location: Germany
In which folders did you install the game? It seems that at least your editor shortcut is missing the '-enable boosterpack' parameter. You know what I mean?

_________________
ICQ http://www.icq.com/people/327554363/


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 8:58 am 

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 9:45 am
Posts: 43
Location: England, Hampshire
Editor Shortcut target (was already like this):

Code:
"C:\Program Files\Sunflowers\ParaWorld\bin\PWClient.exe" -leveled -enable boosterpack1

Is this wrong.

And game installed in:
Code:
"C:\Program Files\Sunflowers\ParaWorld"


I just don't get why the booster works fine, even the seige units work, but not the map editor or new maps. If you've not got anymore ideas, I could try an install and reinstall paraworld and the booster. But I wait for you to get back to me to let me know if the target for the level editor is wrong.

_________________
Image

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Description Maker for SEAS Mod
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 10:39 am 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 8:42 am
Posts: 201
Location: Poland
For me target for the level editor looks correct.
Maybe stupid question but do you install Map Editor (SDK) from file paraworld_sdk_1a.exe ? It is separate file to download.
For new maps try create a new profile in game or maybe in setting of skirmish you set filters which off new maps. For example type of game is defender when on deathmatch is more map or minimum numbers of player to 3? I mean that game don't display new maps because seas_map is only for 2 players and when you set numbers of players to 3 so game don't display it.
Maybe tell which maps do you have displayed or make screenshot?
Do you have vista or xp? If you have vista and game in program files I will not be surprise that vista make trouble. If you are going to reinstall game, select other folder than program files.

_________________
Polish Translator of Boosterpack, SEASMOD/CEP and Mirage(Funmode)
http://paraworld1.fora.pl/
Forum dla polskich graczy
[img]paraworld1.fora.pl[/img]


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 15:25 pm 

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 9:45 am
Posts: 43
Location: England, Hampshire
Yeh thanks tomeis got the maps up :mrgreen: . It was

Quote:
I mean that game don't display new maps because seas_map is only for 2 players and when you set numbers of players to 3 so game don't display it.


I placed it at different numbers of players and it came up.

Thats one problem sorted,

second I have vista and when trying to install paraworld_sdk_1a.exe it doesn't seem to install it properly but I found some files it was putting in temp, not sure if it was the lot I put them in but map editor still doesn't work.

_________________
Image

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Description Maker for SEAS Mod
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 17:11 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 8:42 am
Posts: 201
Location: Poland
Good that problem with maps is gone :)

In topic Paraworld and Vista Scrat wrote that to install mapeditor with "Run as Administrator" in Vista.

Because you install Mapeditor after boosterpack you have to overwrite one file ViewObcPropreties.usl from boosterpack after installation of mapeditor. Because mapeditor have old version of this file where are not new dino and rest of objects from boosterpack.

_________________
Polish Translator of Boosterpack, SEASMOD/CEP and Mirage(Funmode)
http://paraworld1.fora.pl/
Forum dla polskich graczy
[img]paraworld1.fora.pl[/img]


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 18:54 pm 

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 9:45 am
Posts: 43
Location: England, Hampshire
Yer the reason I installed paraworld_sdk_1a.exe was because I couldn't get the map editor to work. I gonna try a reinstall of everything then see if it works, also following advice in the "Paraworld and Vista" topic, I post if I get it working or not.

_________________
Image

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Description Maker for SEAS Mod
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 20:46 pm 
- Mod -
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 15:44 pm
Posts: 14025
Location: Seldwyla
Can't we change the paraworld_sdk_1a.exe so that it takes the updated version of that .usl file? The problem with the correct installation queue is kinda widespread.

_________________
Image
Image
2nd Place Johnnyzocker's Tournament 2008.
2nd Place Saturday Battle Tournament 2010.
3rd Place X-Mas Tournament 2010.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 03, 2008 21:34 pm 
- Admin -
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 17:16 pm
Posts: 4898
Location: Germany
Does anyone know if the SDK adds stuff to the Windows registry? If not we could add the editor files to the boosterpack and could also add a 'Map Editor'-button to the game's main menu.



By the way I need some help with the Tavern patch. It adds a Tavern button to Paraworld's main menu.

http://para-welt.de/forum/viewtopic.php ... 83134c0f30


Problem: I made it work but the localisation is not shown.




- Make a backup before you change the game
- Try version 0.1 first
- Version 1.5 crashes because I've added a link to the Online Campaign forum. So do not try except you know how to fix it.
- The UK and DE versions are localized. The PL version needs some help







Downloads:

http://www.file-upload.net/download-123 ... _.rar.html


Attachments:
Patch_0.2_.rar [27.19 KiB]
Downloaded 198 times
Patch_1.5_.rar [43 KiB]
Downloaded 174 times

_________________
ICQ http://www.icq.com/people/327554363/
Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2008 2:04 am 

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 9:45 am
Posts: 43
Location: England, Hampshire
I tried the reinstall still no luck on getting the editor to work. I have also tried going into PWClient.exe itself but it seems just to go into the game. In the booster pack it does also not contain all the files for the map editor so this time:

.Installed Paraworld.

.Installed Patch.

.Put in the files collected for map editor from paraworld_sdk_1a. (Tried running installation as admin didn't work.) (also notice in map editor files in the "bin" folder "PWServer.exe" could this be effecting it, or could the files in leveled be linked to this?)

.Put the core files in.

.Put the booster in.

EDIT:I think that Triceratops idea sounds good, it would probably be a better way for vista user, as I know the boosterpack works:

Quote:
Does anyone know if the SDK adds stuff to the Windows registry? If not we could add the editor files to the boosterpack and could also add a 'Map Editor'-button to the game's main menu.

_________________
Image

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Description Maker for SEAS Mod
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2008 19:16 pm 
- Admin -
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 17:16 pm
Posts: 4898
Location: Germany
This will be the best solution.


Could you check what Vista does if you install the SDK.exe via 'Run as adiminstrator'? It only creates files in the temp folder?

_________________
ICQ http://www.icq.com/people/327554363/


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 04, 2008 20:13 pm 

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 9:45 am
Posts: 43
Location: England, Hampshire
When you install the SDK.exe via 'Run as adiminstrator' the files only seem to get place in:

Code:
C:/Users/(Username)/AppData/Local/Temp/KPpgUninstall_XXXXXXXX (X=random series of numbers and letters)


Here whats it the folder (had problems attaching here):

http://www.sendspace.com/file/pvtp57

_________________
Image

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Description Maker for SEAS Mod
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2008 1:54 am 
- Dragon Clan -
- Dragon Clan -
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 2:48 am
Posts: 203
Location: Puerto Rico
Not to intrude, but I have no clue how to use the Map Editor, can there be a tutorial?

_________________
Image
Beware, the Dragon Clan has machines! But not this one. :(


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2008 5:05 am 
- Admin -
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 17:16 pm
Posts: 4898
Location: Germany
That would be a good idea. We should try to make a tutorial. Maybe we start with the official sdk manual and post it in a forum thread. Then we try to find out more and add bits of info.

_________________
ICQ http://www.icq.com/people/327554363/


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2008 5:08 am 
- Admin -
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 17:16 pm
Posts: 4898
Location: Germany
THEEVERGOD wrote:
When you install the SDK.exe via 'Run as adiminstrator' the files only seem to get place in:

Code:
C:/Users/(Username)/AppData/Local/Temp/KPpgUninstall_XXXXXXXX (X=random series of numbers and letters)


Here whats it the folder (had problems attaching here):

http://www.sendspace.com/file/pvtp57



Mmh, you are sure it did not add those file to the Paraworld folder? Have you compared the pwclient.exe or the other files? To me it looks like the installation was succesfull.

If you start the editor the game crashes?

Could you check the Paraworld logfiles? They should be in MyFiles (hope it is called like this in Vista). There is an error code in it.

_________________
ICQ http://www.icq.com/people/327554363/


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2008 13:22 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 8:42 am
Posts: 201
Location: Poland
I suggest to make new topics for new problems because now in this topic are few problems and posts are "mixed".

Triceratops
About Tavern I suggest changing link in button "website Paraworld" to link to Tavern because paraworld.com is dead so this button can be change.
I think that I change files in 1.05 PL like files in "patch 0.2" but game display
_UI_MainMenu_Button_GotoChat not Chat. So this is problem, right?

Making button to mapeditor in menu of game is good idea but only when clicking on this button game go to off. Because I tested to run game and alt-tab to run editor and editor don't run when game is running.


THEEVERGOD
Where are you reinstall game? To other folder than Program Files?
Maybe try install only game and SDK? And try run mapeditor by shortcut created automatically in "menu start/(sunflowers)/paraworld"
The main folder for map editor is Leveled in ParaWorld\Data\leveled
My folder leveled have 3-4 MB and 214 files. How yours?



Zumokuta Clan
Do you have particular problem with using mapeditor? Read manual in \ParaWorld\Docs and learn by editing maps which are already done.

_________________
Polish Translator of Boosterpack, SEASMOD/CEP and Mirage(Funmode)
http://paraworld1.fora.pl/
Forum dla polskich graczy
[img]paraworld1.fora.pl[/img]


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2008 14:09 pm 

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 9:45 am
Posts: 43
Location: England, Hampshire
Triceratops wrote:
Mmh, you are sure it did not add those file into the Paraworld folder? Have you compared the pwclient.exe or the other files? To me it looks like the installation was succesfull.

If you start the editor the game crashes?

Could you check the Paraworld logfiles? They should be in MyFiles (hope it is called like this in Vista). There is an error code in it.


@Triceratops: I'm sure it was not put in there as I checked the folder and there was only ViewObjProperties.usl in the leveled folder. Thats why I copied the data from "KPpgUninstall_XXXXXXXX" to the paraworld folder. Where "MyFiles" could you give me a file name to look for that will show the Paraworld Log.


tomeis wrote:
THEEVERGOD
Where are you reinstall game? To other folder than Program Files?
Maybe try install only game and SDK? And try run mapeditor by shortcut created automatically in "menu start/(sunflowers)/paraworld"
The main folder for map editor is Leveled in ParaWorld\Data\leveled
My folder leveled have 3-4 MB and 214 files. How yours?


@tomeis:

1.I reinstalled to the primary place,
Code:
C:/program files/sunflowers/paraworld
maybe thats the problem? How do you patch up to 1.01, with patcher if installed in a different dirrectory or don't I need to?

2.I'll try install paraworld to a different folder, then install map editor then try.

3. 2.73 MB, 213 files.

_________________
Image

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Description Maker for SEAS Mod
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2008 16:44 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2007 8:42 am
Posts: 201
Location: Poland
Your folder "leveled" is good. I wrong check my folder .
I use boosterpack so I don't install Patch 1.01, because boosterpack have fixes from patch 1.01.
Do you have LevelEd.info in Paraworld\Data\Info ?
Program files can cause problems with paraworld.

Log files are in folder Log and name of logs for example :
server_0001204320313505.log

_________________
Polish Translator of Boosterpack, SEASMOD/CEP and Mirage(Funmode)
http://paraworld1.fora.pl/
Forum dla polskich graczy
[img]paraworld1.fora.pl[/img]


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2008 22:31 pm 
- Dragon Clan -
- Dragon Clan -
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 2:48 am
Posts: 203
Location: Puerto Rico
tomeis wrote:
Zumokuta Clan
Do you have particular problem with using mapeditor? Read manual in \ParaWorld\Docs and learn by editing maps which are already done.


Yeah, when I try to use some of the buttons, they won't work or I don't know how to use them.

_________________
Image
Beware, the Dragon Clan has machines! But not this one. :(


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 06, 2008 0:52 am 
- Admin -
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 17:16 pm
Posts: 4898
Location: Germany
@TEG Better reinstall the game and choose C:\Sunflowers as installation path. The editor needs patch 1.01. But not if you use the boosterpack. Maybe you try 1.01 first. Afterwards you can still extract the BP 'over' it.

_________________
ICQ http://www.icq.com/people/327554363/


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 06, 2008 1:11 am 

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 9:45 am
Posts: 43
Location: England, Hampshire
Yer I put it in

Code:
C:/PW/Sunflowers/Paraworld


and the map editor works now :)

it seems that the patch 1.01 will find the dirrector you installed it to anyway, and paraworld_sdk_1a install correctly all files to that folder as well. Although it seems if in programs paraworld_sdk_1a will not install correctly.

_________________
Image

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Description Maker for SEAS Mod
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 32 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron