Login | Register


All times are UTC + 1 hour


It is currently Sun Nov 19, 2017 2:07 am




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 86 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Paraworld and Vista
PostPosted: Thu Oct 02, 2008 15:09 pm 
- Mod -
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 15:44 pm
Posts: 14025
Location: Seldwyla
First, to ancipitate one thing: Yes, Paraworld is also running if you have Windows Vista. But there might be problems you would not have using Windows XP. I use Vista myself and found out some useful information that might help you if you have a problem.




1. Installing Paraworld


It is very advisable to NOT install Paraworld to folder Program Files as it is write protected and one can not nullify that. So it would be good to install the folder Sunflowers to another folder. One alternative would be to install Paraworld to Load, this folder is not write protected. I have Paraworld myself installed to Load and it's running great.
Another alternative would be to create a new folder into [C:] that you can call whatever you want as long as you find it. An example would be PW as name. Then you have to enter

C:\PW\Sunflowers

into installing path for having Paraworld installed correctly.



2. Mapeditor (SDK)


The SDK Level- or Mapeditor giving someone the possibility to create own maps may not be installed as usual (= by double clicking the .exe) but with right mouse button --> "Run as Administrator" due to the installation progressing deficient otherwise. For Mapeditor it does not matter if Paraworld was installed to Program Files or to a different folder.



3. Boosterpack


The BoosterPack being developed for Paraworld in February 2007 is also running at Vista. Due to this, its installing process is arduous and time-consuming if you have Paraworld installed to "Program files". For this folder being write-protected you cannot just overwrite the files while Winrar extracts the three boosterpack files into folder "Paraworld" but you have to Boosterpack-Archiv copy out every single file from every single folder after exracting the boosterpack files and copy them into the adequate folder in your Sunflowers-folder. So I am advising you again to not install Paraworld into folder "Program files".

Quote:
Easy Way To Install Boosterpack:
By Disabling the UAC "User Account Control":
Start===>Control Panel===>User Account===>Enable or Disable User Account Control. And that is all when you do that thing you can extract the boosterpack without Problem :)

Kharg.

If there shall still be problems with your Paraworld at Vista, don't hesitate to asking ;)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paraworld and Vista
PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 20:09 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 19:10 pm
Posts: 33
Location: The Netherlands
Thank you, Scrat. I was indeed having problems with PW on Vista. I just got a new computer with allot of horsepower. I can play pretty much all the newest games on the highest resolutions and graphical settings.

I'm installing PW now and I hope it works. It's been a long time since I played it :)


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paraworld and Vista
PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 20:35 pm 
- Mod -
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 15:44 pm
Posts: 14025
Location: Seldwyla
;) good luck

_________________
Image
Image
2nd Place Johnnyzocker's Tournament 2008.
2nd Place Saturday Battle Tournament 2010.
3rd Place X-Mas Tournament 2010.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paraworld and Vista
PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 22:31 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 19:10 pm
Posts: 33
Location: The Netherlands
It didn't work :evil:

Hate Vista


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paraworld and Vista
PostPosted: Fri Oct 17, 2008 12:16 pm 
- Mod -
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 15:44 pm
Posts: 14025
Location: Seldwyla
You did everything the way I wrote?

_________________
Image
Image
2nd Place Johnnyzocker's Tournament 2008.
2nd Place Saturday Battle Tournament 2010.
3rd Place X-Mas Tournament 2010.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paraworld and Vista
PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2008 22:58 pm 
- Admin -
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 17:16 pm
Posts: 4898
Location: Germany
DeGrue wrote:
It didn't work :evil:

Hate Vista


System spec and more infos please :wink:

_________________
ICQ http://www.icq.com/people/327554363/


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paraworld and Vista
PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 21:44 pm 
- Dragon Clan -
- Dragon Clan -
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 2:48 am
Posts: 203
Location: Puerto Rico
I did the "Run as Administrator" for the Map Editor, and it showed me the Installment agreement (yadayadayadayadayadayada) and installed. Put when I played, I couldn't see it in the Main Menu. Btw, how should the "C:\Program Files\ParaWorld\Bin\Paraworld.exe" look like when you add the "-enableboosterpack1"? :?:

_________________
Image
Beware, the Dragon Clan has machines! But not this one. :(


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paraworld and Vista
PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 21:50 pm 
- Mod -
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 15:44 pm
Posts: 14025
Location: Seldwyla
The Mapeditor is nothing to see in the main menu of Paraworld. It is a seperate program. With the installation there should have been created a desktop icon named LevelEditor. If not, you can launch the mapeditor by going to (Windows key)-->All programs-->Sunflowers-->Paraworld-->SDK and click LevelEditor.

_________________
Image
Image
2nd Place Johnnyzocker's Tournament 2008.
2nd Place Saturday Battle Tournament 2010.
3rd Place X-Mas Tournament 2010.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paraworld and Vista
PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 22:04 pm 
- Dragon Clan -
- Dragon Clan -
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 2:48 am
Posts: 203
Location: Puerto Rico
Ok, so can you help me with the "-enableboosterpack1" thing? It's not working, I don't know how to put in the lines!! :x

_________________
Image
Beware, the Dragon Clan has machines! But not this one. :(


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paraworld and Vista
PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 22:14 pm 
- Mod -
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 15:44 pm
Posts: 14025
Location: Seldwyla
Image


Click at the line 'Target' and insert

    -enable boosterpack1

to the very end of the line.

Same with Mapeditor, put -enable boosterpack1 (watch out for the one blank space between the "[...].exe" and the -enable boosterpack1 ; both Paraworld and Mapeditor desktop icon) after -leveled.

_________________
Image
Image
2nd Place Johnnyzocker's Tournament 2008.
2nd Place Saturday Battle Tournament 2010.
3rd Place X-Mas Tournament 2010.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paraworld and Vista
PostPosted: Mon Nov 17, 2008 22:48 pm 
- Admin -
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 17:16 pm
Posts: 4898
Location: Germany
Zumokuta Clan,

change the line:

TARGET: ....paraworld\bin\paraworld.exe


to: .........paraworld\bin\paraworld.exe -enable boosterpack1

_________________
ICQ http://www.icq.com/people/327554363/


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: 12345
PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 0:50 am 
- Dragon Clan -
- Dragon Clan -
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 2:48 am
Posts: 203
Location: Puerto Rico
Yeah I Know! :shock: Finally! Thanks you guys!!!

P.S. Are there new units for Dragon Clan and Dustriders when you get Kleemann in Lv. 4? :?:

_________________
Image
Beware, the Dragon Clan has machines! But not this one. :(


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 1:29 am 
- Admin -
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 17:16 pm
Posts: 4898
Location: Germany
Good. *Happy* :wink:


Kleemann gives:

DR

Skull Totem Building (area effect, earn more skulls around the totem)



DC

*tries to remember* not sure, let the others tell you tomorrow.



EDIT: In case you all wonder I have put those two threads together :mrgreen:

_________________
ICQ http://www.icq.com/people/327554363/


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paraworld and Vista
PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 11:31 am 
- Mod -
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 15:44 pm
Posts: 14025
Location: Seldwyla
A list is in another topic in Technical Help: viewtopic.php?f=10&t=38

_________________
Image
Image
2nd Place Johnnyzocker's Tournament 2008.
2nd Place Saturday Battle Tournament 2010.
3rd Place X-Mas Tournament 2010.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 22:58 pm 
- Dragon Clan -
- Dragon Clan -
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 2:48 am
Posts: 203
Location: Puerto Rico
Triceratops wrote:
Good. *Happy* :wink:


Kleemann gives:

DR

Skull Totem Building (area effect, earn more skulls around the totem)



DC

*tries to remember* not sure, let the others tell you tomorrow.



EDIT: In case you all wonder I have put those two threads together :mrgreen:


I can't find the Skull Totem!! What building do I go, and where do I find the new dinos?


Edit: never mind I know where the dinos are. But where's the Skull Totem?

_________________
Image
Beware, the Dragon Clan has machines! But not this one. :(


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paraworld and Vista
PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 23:02 pm 
- Mod -
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 15:44 pm
Posts: 14025
Location: Seldwyla
Kleemann level 4, the Dustrider's worker.

b2t here plz

_________________
Image
Image
2nd Place Johnnyzocker's Tournament 2008.
2nd Place Saturday Battle Tournament 2010.
3rd Place X-Mas Tournament 2010.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paraworld and Vista
PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 23:07 pm 
- Dragon Clan -
- Dragon Clan -
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 2:48 am
Posts: 203
Location: Puerto Rico
How come when I was in "Carcass" I couldn't get Kleemann, (I was using Dustriders).

What do you mean by b2t?

_________________
Image
Beware, the Dragon Clan has machines! But not this one. :(


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paraworld and Vista
PostPosted: Tue Nov 18, 2008 23:53 pm 
- Admin -
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 17:16 pm
Posts: 4898
Location: Germany
He meant we should use this thread for technical issues. But this is one. You cannot build Kleemann in skirmish mode? Mmh. You are sure you started the game with the new shortcut?

_________________
ICQ http://www.icq.com/people/327554363/


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paraworld and Vista
PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2008 0:04 am 
- Dragon Clan -
- Dragon Clan -
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 2:48 am
Posts: 203
Location: Puerto Rico
Actually I can use him with Norscemen and Dragon Clan, but not Dustriders, and I can't find the Skull Totem!!

_________________
Image
Beware, the Dragon Clan has machines! But not this one. :(


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paraworld and Vista
PostPosted: Wed Nov 19, 2008 19:09 pm 
- Admin -
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 17:16 pm
Posts: 4898
Location: Germany
Oh, that's not a good thing. If you have time, please try again. But end the game, clear the Paraworld cache and then try it again.

Just go to START->Sunflowers->Paraworld>Clear Paraworld Cache

Edit: By the way nice avatar and signature. Looks great

_________________
ICQ http://www.icq.com/people/327554363/


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paraworld and Vista
PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2008 0:29 am 
- Dragon Clan -
- Dragon Clan -
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 2:48 am
Posts: 203
Location: Puerto Rico
Triceratops wrote:
Oh, that's not a good thing. If you have time, please try again. But end the game, clear the Paraworld cache and then try it again.

Just go to START->Sunflowers->Paraworld>Clear Paraworld Cache

Edit: By the way nice avatar and signature. Looks great


Like it says, its the "Gauntlet Docks" from the Gauntlet. :mrgreen: I like making banners, especially from Paraworld. The Mosa was from the Image Strip of the new Boosterpack dinos. :wink:

_________________
Image
Beware, the Dragon Clan has machines! But not this one. :(


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paraworld and Vista
PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2008 1:17 am 
- Admin -
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 17:16 pm
Posts: 4898
Location: Germany
Good work

You have told me via PN that Kleemann is not available in the dustrider's tavern. That's scary. Not sure why this is the case. At the moment I replace the old boosterpack files as the got damaged on this freehoster. All this problems with the .ula and vid files have not been when we uploaded them. I used these files myself for several months.

@Scrat, you have a similiar problem?

_________________
ICQ http://www.icq.com/people/327554363/


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paraworld and Vista
PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2008 13:54 pm 
- Mod -
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 15:44 pm
Posts: 14025
Location: Seldwyla
Triceratops wrote:
@Scrat, you have a similiar problem?


Never had that. :?

Zomu, you might look the entries for Kleemann up in the TechTree.

Go to Sunflowers\Paraworld\Data\Boosterpack1\Scripts\Server\Settings\techtree and open the file TechTree.ttre . Then search for


schliemann_s0 {
duration = '45'
visibility = '1'
secondarycontroller = '0'
locations {
0 = '/Objects/Aje/BLDG/aje_cook_house' {
description = '_schliemann'
uiposition {
cat = 'PROD'
subcat = 'UNIT'
menupos = '9'
}
iconpath = 'special_schliemann'
}
}
results {
0 = '/Objects/Special/CHTR/schliemann_s0' {
class = 'player'
type = 'activate'
flags {
level = '1'
}
}
1 = '/Filters/Aje/Upgrades/aje_cook_house/schliemann_s0' {
class = 'player'
type = 'activate'
}
}
conditions {
tribe {
0 = 'Aje'
}
rescosts {
units = '0'
food = '250'
wood = '0'
stone = '0'
iron = '25'
}
}
}

THis is the entry for Kleemann.

_________________
Image
Image
2nd Place Johnnyzocker's Tournament 2008.
2nd Place Saturday Battle Tournament 2010.
3rd Place X-Mas Tournament 2010.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paraworld and Vista
PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2008 20:31 pm 
- Dragon Clan -
- Dragon Clan -
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2008 2:48 am
Posts: 203
Location: Puerto Rico
Quote:
0 = 'Aje'


Mine says Ninigi.

_________________
Image
Beware, the Dragon Clan has machines! But not this one. :(


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Paraworld and Vista
PostPosted: Thu Nov 20, 2008 21:21 pm 
- Mod -
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 15:44 pm
Posts: 14025
Location: Seldwyla
Are you sure that you looked it up in the correct spot? It is line 12124 .

And is it only the line you mentioned?
If yes, change Ninigi to Aje, maybe that will help. :?

_________________
Image
Image
2nd Place Johnnyzocker's Tournament 2008.
2nd Place Saturday Battle Tournament 2010.
3rd Place X-Mas Tournament 2010.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 86 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron