Login | Register


All times are UTC + 1 hour


It is currently Sat Aug 19, 2017 19:52 pm




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: Annoying AI bug.
PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 1:51 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 23:50 pm
Posts: 118
Location: USA
A lot of my skirmish matches have dud AIs. Dud as in they dont move at all or start. They just stand at their base. They only thing they react to is if you attack them. Is there a way to fix this? Its not fun if theres multiple allies or enemies that dont even start their base. Thanks for any help.

_________________
Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Annoying AI bug.
PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 2:59 am 
- Admin -
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 18, 2009 14:17 pm
Posts: 1969
This may happen when the AI has too little space. Or some other bug in the AI files. It's difficult to fix since it requires a lot of testing, which is complicated because this does not always happen.

_________________
I've never seen code like this.

CEP Moddb | CEP download
ParaWelt TicTacToe | Multiplayer TicTacToe/4 gewinnt/etc v1.2


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Annoying AI bug.
PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 4:03 am 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 23:50 pm
Posts: 118
Location: USA
Oh. that sucks :/

_________________
Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Annoying AI bug.
PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 7:15 am 
- Multi-Tribe -
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 18:35 pm
Posts: 167
Location: Hamburg
this bug i have mpstly with the Dustriders and thats very boring when this happened. :?

_________________
Image
Tyranno Destroy's any Resistance !!!
Tyranno Der Thread Necromancer


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Annoying AI bug.
PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 8:37 am 
- Mod -
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 15:44 pm
Posts: 13992
Location: Seldwyla
Are you sure you didn't put the AI setting to passive or random?

_________________
Image
Image
2nd Place Johnnyzocker's Tournament 2008.
2nd Place Saturday Battle Tournament 2010.
3rd Place X-Mas Tournament 2010.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Annoying AI bug.
PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 9:06 am 
- Admin -
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2007 17:16 pm
Posts: 4897
Location: Germany
Like Scrat said, and I want to add please make a note of the map, ai setting and the chosen tribes (all players and ais) and post it here

_________________
ICQ http://www.icq.com/people/327554363/


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Annoying AI bug.
PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 10:18 am 
- Multi-Tribe -
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 18:35 pm
Posts: 167
Location: Hamburg
Valley of Death the Dustriders

_________________
Image
Tyranno Destroy's any Resistance !!!
Tyranno Der Thread Necromancer


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Annoying AI bug.
PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 11:00 am 
- Mod -
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 15:44 pm
Posts: 13992
Location: Seldwyla
The map is fine, I played it several times without impairments. :?

_________________
Image
Image
2nd Place Johnnyzocker's Tournament 2008.
2nd Place Saturday Battle Tournament 2010.
3rd Place X-Mas Tournament 2010.


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Annoying AI bug.
PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 11:45 am 
- Multi-Tribe -
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jul 16, 2010 18:35 pm
Posts: 167
Location: Hamburg
I Love this map but when my teammates are the Dustriders they Stand there and do nothing

_________________
Image
Tyranno Destroy's any Resistance !!!
Tyranno Der Thread Necromancer


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Annoying AI bug.
PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 17:17 pm 
- Mod -
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 17:57 pm
Posts: 115
with the ai dr, they have a tendency to send out the mobile hq to stones on the other side of the map, despite having stone near the base, if this happens and the enemy keep destroying the hq, then instead of building up the ai will be attempting to make another hq to replace the one lost, if this cycle becomes stuck then its easy to see why it looks like the AI is doing nothing, even if they are not on passive.

It is especially bad on a map with your allies as dr on level 9 on aggressive ai setting and with 100k starting points still manage to die through not having a hq :|

Note that in mirage, picking random, will pick either offensive, balanced or aggressive but not passive, however passive is still available as an option.

_________________
Image

Thanks to Henry for making the animation


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Annoying AI bug.
PostPosted: Tue Jul 16, 2013 19:05 pm 
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2009 23:50 pm
Posts: 118
Location: USA
The AI were set on balanced,aggressive, or defensive. I was playing 3 different maps on CEP. 1 was official (Ajuba city) and 2 fan made maps. I played 4v4 so my ally and enemy were both affected. The tribes seemed to not matter since NM,DC, and DR were affected.To fix it I had to abandon game and set it up again. It doesnt sound bad but i like playing with fog on so its quite annoying to spend time building an army to relize the enemy is is a dud.

_________________
Image


Top
 Offline Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 11 posts ] 

All times are UTC + 1 hour


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to: